Makers of San Diego History Annual Dinner: Honoring 100 Years of the San Diego Zoo

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Schedule of Events

4:30 – 6PM  Lore Behind the Roar: 100 Years of the San Diego Zoo exhibit tour at the San Diego History Center

6 – 7PM  Hosted Beer/Wine Reception
(No Host Cocktails)

7 – 9PM  Dinner, Entertainment, and Program

If you would like to visit the exhibition chronicling the San Diego Zoo’s rich history currently on display at the San Diego History Center, the opportunity is available to you from 4:30pm – 6:00pm. You will get a personal and one of a kind tour through the exhibition. It is a short four-minute walk from the San Diego Zoo parking lot.

Join the celebration!


$120 – Individual
$1,200 – Table of 10

For ticket and sponsorship information,
please call (619) 232-6203 x 111


Additional Information:

  • Take a tour of the exhibition that explains how a rag-tag collection of animals left over from the 1915 Expo has become the most recognized zoo in the world! Before the dinner, visit the San Diego History Center from 4:30pm-6pm and get a personal tour of the exhibition The Lore Behind the Roar! 100 Years of the San Diego Zoo!
  • Valet is available at the San Diego Zoo for your convenience at $20 per car, begins at 4:30pm.
  • Attire: Smart Casual with comfortable shoes.
  • If you are not interested in seeing the Lore Behind the Roar! 100 Years of the San Diego Zoo exhibition, please arrive at 6pm at the San Diego Zoo’s parking lot or valet stand.
  • Please Note: Zoo Admission is not included in event pricing/ticket price.
  • For sponsorship opportunities, please contact Chief Development Officer, Lisa Culver at or (619) 232-6203 x 148.

Each year, the San Diego History Center honors those individuals, businesses, and institutions that have “made history in their own time.” This year, join us as we honor the 100th year of the San Diego Zoo and Zoological Society.

The San Diego Zoological Society (today San Diego Zoo Global’s San Diego Zoo) began with a collection of animals left over from the 1915 Panama-California Exposition that were brought together by its eager and visionary founder, Dr. Harry Wegeforth. As years went on, the Zoo was the beneficiary of financial gifts from local philanthropists who realized what a zoo could do for San Diego.

As time went on, the popularity of the Zoo grew. The millions of soldiers and sailors who came through the city during World War II brought tales of the zoo’s prowess home after their service. Zoorama, San Diego’s first nationally-syndicated show, and local zoo ambassador Joan Embery (via The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson) brought the Zoo into the living rooms of families throughout the nation, adding to its popularity.

Today the San Diego Zoo is the most-recognized zoo in the United States, frequently cited in movies like Anchorman and Madagascar. Its presence on social media and the web captivate audiences through the Zoo’s outreach and marketing. This in turn brings in millions of visitors from around the world and adds mightily to the City of San Diego’s economic impact and leads other related institutions in the realm of habitat conservation and ending extinction.

Join us in celebrating this one-of-a-kind institution that is a must-see experience for many, and a local treasure to San Diegans.

The MADCAPS Class of 2021 (7th Graders) will perform their benefit show performance, “Africa Rocks”, at the San Diego History Center’s 2016 Makers of San Diego History dinner on Saturday, June 25, 2016.

MADCAPS, is a private, nonprofit organization, that involves mothers and daughters in direct service to and support of established philanthropic organizations.  MADCAPS participates in year-round activities and fundraising so that all members may fully realize the benefits of involvement in the community.

Madcaps proudly compliments our direct service with financial contributions to the philanthropic groups we serve.  Please become a friend of MADCAPS by attending our annual benefit show and/or making a donation to support these philanthropies.  If you have questions regarding MADCAPS please contact us at




2015 Centurions of San Diego
2014 U.S. Military in San Diego and Walter J. Zable
2013 The Craft Brew Industry
2012 The Tuna Industry
2011 Sol Price
2010 Qualcomm, Inc.
2008 Transformation of Naval Training Center into Liberty Station: Wayne Donaldson, Jack Ensch, Susan Golding, Wayne Raffesberger and Mike Stepner
2007 Daniel J Tucker, Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation and Terry Cooper, Las Patronas
2005 Fred Lewis, Heart of San Diego
2003 Pauline des Granges, The Junior League of San Diego, The Evans Family and The Hom Family
2002 Honorable Lionel Van Deerlin, Honorable Leon Williams, Mary and Dallas Clark, and Robert M. Witty, Retiring Executive Director
2001 Philip Klauber, Dorothy Smith, Gustavo Romero, The Burnham Family